Skip to main content

Draymond Green Reacts To NBA Rescinding Technical Foul On Luka Doncic: "Techs Rescinded For No Cursing… I’ll Finally Win Some Appeals."

Draymond Green Reacts To NBA Rescinding Technical Foul On Luka Doncic: "Techs Rescinded For No Cursing… I’ll Finally Win Some Appeals"

Luka Doncic picked up his 16th technical foul of the season during the Dallas Mavericks' 50-point win over the Portland Trail Blazers. While Doncic chucked a three from half-court at the second-quarter buzzer, he was fouled by Elijah Hughes and referee Tony Brothers didn't call the foul.

Luka went over to referee Brothers to protest the no-call, and by Brothers' own admission, did it without cursing. However, at the moment, Doncic was given a technical that would suspend him for the Mavericks' final game of the season against the San Antonio Spurs. 

A lot of discussion over the matter began when Kevin Durant tweeted out the video of Doncic getting the technical with him clearly disapproving of the no-call on Luka. The Mavericks had already announced their intention to appeal the tech, as they have done for many prior Doncic technical fouls. This one was actually overturned and has given hope to players like Draymond Green for their future technicals.

The technical foul being rescinded was extremely crucial for the Mavericks as Doncic would have been suspended for the Mavericks' final game of the season. Dallas can still possibly jump the Golden State Warriors and take the #3 seed ahead of the playoffs. 

The Mavericks have a record of 51-30 while the Warriors are 52-29. If Golden State loses their final game of the season against the New Orleans Pelicans while Dallas wins their game against the San Antonio Spurs, the Mavericks would occupy the 3rd seed despite the record being tied. This is because the Mavs beat GSW 2-1 in the regular-season series.

This foul could have had major implications for the regular season's Sunday finale but has added to the stakes. Doncic can get a technical foul against the Spurs and will not have to serve the aforementioned suspension as it won't carry over to the next season.