Skip to main content
Publish date:

The Full List Of 108 NBA Players That Are Eligible To Be Traded On December 15th

The Full List Of 108 NBA Players That Are Eligible To Be Traded On December 15th

December 15th is going to be a key point of this season, as over a hundred players are going to be eligible to be traded after signing a new deal as free agents, so General Managers are likely to be working overnight to try and get some deals done.

Free agent signings don’t always end up the way everybody expected them to be, as players fail to make the adjustment to their new environment, the team doesn’t fare as well as expected, or they just rather move them to try and get better assets in return.

According to 247 Sports, those are rules that you need to know about the upcoming trades:

- Most free agents signed during the offseason can be traded on December 15th of that league year or three months after signing their deal, whichever comes second. In a given year, this will usually comprise around 80 percent of free agent additions.

- The most common exception relates to players that can only be traded on January 15th or later. There are two reasons why a player might not be tradeable until this date. The first relates to a term from old collective bargaining agreements called "Base-Year Compensation" that attempted to make it harder for teams to sign players for the purpose of trading them. It has largely been done away with in the modern league, and usually only crops up in regards to players who reached restricted free agency. The second is when a team exercises either "Early-Bird Rights" or "Larry Bird Rights" to re-sign one of its own players. This exception, named after Larry Bird, allows teams to go over the salary cap to retain their players under certain circumstances. If a player signs with his original team using that exception on a contract that is worth more than the NBA minimum and gives him a raise of over 20 percent, he is also ineligible for a trade until January 15th.

- There are a certain number of players that, functionally speaking, have no-trade clauses due to the nature of their contracts. Any player on a one-year contract who is set to earn either "Early Bird Rights" or "Larry Bird Rights" is allowed to veto any trade involving them because they would lose those rights in the deal, and instead become free agents at the end of the year with the less advantageous "Non-Bird Rights" as their new team's only method of going over the cap to retain them short of other cap exceptions. This rule was most famously applied in 2008 when Devean George, a role player included only for salary purposes, nearly derailed a trade that would have sent Jason Kidd to the Dallas Mavericks by refusing to be included.

This season, as much as 108 newcomers are about to become eligible to be traded on December 15th or January 15th, and today, we’re going to give you a whole list, so you know which player could be traded.

Atlanta Hawks: Vince Carter, Daniel Hamilton, Alex Len

Boston Celtics: Aron Baynes, Jabari Bird, Brad Wanamaker

Brooklyn Nets: Ed Davis, Treveon Graham, Shabazz Napier

Charlotte Hornets: Tony Parker

Chicago Bulls: Jabari Parker, Ryan Arcidiacono, Antonio Blakeney

Cleveland Cavaliers: Channing Frye, David Nwaba, Rodney Hood

Dallas Mavericks: Ryan Broekhoff, Dirk Nowitzki, DeAndre Jordan, Salah Mejri, Devin Harris

Denver Nuggets: Isaiah Thomas, Torrey Craig

Detroit Pistons: Zaza Pachulia, Jose Calderon, Glenn Robinson

Golden State Warriors: DeMarcus Cousins, Kevin Durant, Kevon Looney, Jonas Jerebko

Houston Rockets: Gerald Green, James Ennis, Michael Carter-Williams, Carmelo Anthony

Indiana Pacers: Tyreke Evans, Doug McDermott, Kyle O’Quinn

Los Angeles Clippers: Luc Mbah a Moute, Mike Scott, Tyrone Wallace

Los Angeles Lakers: LeBron James, JaVale McGee, Michael Beasley, Lance Stephenson, Rajon Rondo, Kentavious Caldwell-Pope

Memphis Grizzlies: Kyle Anderson, Shelvin Mack, Omri Casspi

Miami Heat: Wayne Ellington, Dwyane Wade, Udonis Haslem, Derrick Jones Jr

Milwaukee Bucks: Pat Connaughton, Ersan Ilyasova, Brook Lopez, Christian Wood

Minnesota Timberwolves: Derrick Rose, James Nunnally, Luol Deng, Anthony Tolliver

New Orleans Pelicans: Ian Clark, Julius Randle, Elfrid Payton, Jahlil Okafor, Kendrick Williams

New York Knicks: Luke Kornet, Mario Hezonja, Noah Vonleh

Oklahoma City Thunder: Raymond Felton, Nerlens Noel

Orlando Magic: Isaiah Briscoe

Philadelphia 76ers: Amir Johnson, JJ Redick

Phoenix Suns: Trevor Ariza

Portland Trail Blazers: Seth Curry, Nik Stauskas

Sacramento Kings: Yogi Ferrell, Nemanja Bjelica

San Antonio Spurs: Rudy Gay, Marco Belinelli, Dante Cunningham, Quincy Pondexter

Toronto Raptors: Lorenzo Brown, Greg Monroe

Utah Jazz: Georges Niang

Washington Wizards: Jeff Green, Dwight Howard

Also, there are a handful of players that can’t be traded until January 15th:

Boston Celtics: Marcus Smart

Brooklyn Nets: Joe Harris

Chicago Bulls: Zach LaVine

Cleveland Cavaliers: Rodney Hood

Denver Nuggets: Will Barton, Nikola Jokic

Houston Rockets: Chris Paul, Clint Capela

Los Angeles Clippers: Montrezl Harrell, Avery Bradley

Oklahoma City Thunder: Paul George, Jerami Grant

Orlando Magic: Aaron Gordon

Phoenix Suns: Jamal Crawford

Portland Trail Blazers: Jusuf Nurkic

San Antonio Spurs: Davis Bertans, Bryn Forbes

Toronto Raptors: Fred VanVleet

Utah Jazz: Derrick Favors, Raul Neto, Dante Exum