Skip to main content

Since 2004 LeBron James Has Won More NBA Titles Than Every Other NBA Franchise

Since 2004 LeBron James Has Won More NBA Titles Than Every Other NBA Franchise

LeBron James is the best player of his generation and his ability to impact the game both on and off the court is legendary. LeBron is a special talent and his postseason success is the main reason why many consider him to be the greatest player of all-time. In fact, since his rookie season, LeBron James has won more NBA titles than any other franchise. That's right, The King has more rings on his fingers than any other franchise has as a whole.

To showcase LeBron's greatness, here is the breakdown of the number of rings won since LeBron's debut season.

LeBron James: 4 Titles - 2012, 2013, 2016, 2020

(via Fadeaway World)

(via Fadeaway World)

The King, Akron's own, LeBron James has won 4 NBA titles since his debut season in 2004. LeBron won 4 chips with 3 different teams, placing him in special company. No matter what critics might have to say, LeBron James is a force unlike we have seen in NBA history. His ability to play and dominate in any style of play with his all-around ability is unique. LeBron won his first 2 rings with the Miami Heat super team, his third with the Cleveland Cavaliers, and his fourth with the Los Angeles Lakers last season. By making a whopping 10 NBA Finals appearances, LeBron has managed to win 4 NBA rings that have him inching closer to GOAT status.

Golden State Warriors: 3 Titles - 2015, 2017, 2018

2018 Golden State Warriors

Arguably the most dominant Dynasty in NBA history, the Golden State Warriors have changed the game for the foreseeable future. Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green guided the Warriors to an NBA title in 2015 under head coach Steve Kerr. It wasn't until they acquired Oklahoma City Thunder superstar Kevin Durant when they won 2 straight NBA titles by defeating LeBron James and the Cavaliers in 2017 and 2018. The Warriors had one of the greatest postseason runs in NBA history, and their style of play has changed the NBA game forever.

Los Angeles Lakers: 3 Titles - 2009, 2010, 2020

(via CBS Sports)

(via CBS Sports)

The Los Angeles Lakers had a Dynasty with Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O'Neal. Arguably the most dominant duo in NBA history, they ran through the league to win 3 titles in 4 Finals appearances together. However, the Lakers captured 2 more rings after LeBron's debut in 2004. Kobe Bryant and the Los Angeles Lakers acquired All-Star Pau Gasol from the Memphis Grizzlies and managed to make 3 straight NBA Finals from 2008 until 2010. The Lakers won 2 out of 3, with Kobe lifting the Finals MVP twice. Fast forward 10 years later, and LeBron James hoists a Finals MVP trophy as he and his superstar teammate Anthony Davis guided the Lakers to the 2020 NBA championship.

San Antonio Spurs: 3 Titles - 2005, 2007, 2013

2014 San Antonio Spurs

One of the most successful franchises in sports history, the Spurs won 3 titles since LeBron's debut in 2004. The Spurs remained a consistent force with Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, Manu Ginobili, and Greg Popovich guiding the team to success every season. The Spurs were always a threat for the NBA title, and even when Duncan grew older, they had a young star named Kawhi Leonard to lead the pack. The Spurs knocked off the Detroit Pistons, Cleveland Cavaliers, and Miami Heat to win 3 rings. The Spurs are one of the most storied franchises ever and their run over the past decade and a half is indicative of their status.

Miami Heat: 3 Titles - 2006, 2012, 2013

Miami Heat Champions

The Miami Heat have had tremendous success over the past decade. Young superstar Dwyane Wade had one of the greatest Finals performances in 2006 and his sidekick Shaquille O'Neal was still a force inside. The Heat knocked off the favored Dallas Mavericks led by Dirk Nowitzki, who was the MVP of the regular season. Fast forward 6 years later, and Dwyane Wade received help in the forms of LeBron James and Chris Bosh to win 2 straight NBA titles in 2012 and 2013. The Heat had one of the greatest Dynasties in NBA history and a Big Three that still resonates with Heat fans until today.

Dallas Mavericks: 1 Title - 2011

2010-11 Dallas Mavericks

The Dallas Mavericks led by future Hall of Famer Dirk Nowitzki completed one of the largest upsets in NBA history by defeating LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh, and the Miami Heat in 2011. Dirk was the best player during the playoffs and was just as effective during the Finals as Miami had no answer for the German superstar. Dirk had help with the likes of Jason Terry, Jason Kidd, Shawn Marion, and Tyson Chandler as they upset the heavily favored Heat team that did not show up.

Cleveland Cavaliers: 1 Title - 2016

Richard Jefferson Says 2016 Cavs Title Is Worth More Than Others And 'Golden State Knows It'

LeBron James, Kyrie Irving, and Kevin Love completed the greatest Finals comeback in NBA history by knocking off the Golden State Warriors in 7 games to win Cleveland's first title. LeBron James the Finals MVP, he was absolutely unstoppable and was on a mission to deliver a ring for his city. He and his sidekick Kyrie Irving were the best players in the 2016 Finals and the Cavaliers might have to accept that this will be the only title they will have for a very long time.

Toronto Raptors: 1 Title - 2019

(via Sportsnet)

(via Sportsnet)

The Toronto Raptors pulled off one of the biggest and shocking playoff runs when they won the 2019 championship. After trading for Spurs superstar Kawhi Leonard, the Raptors made it all the way to the NBA Finals by defeating the likes of Philadelphia 76ers and Milwaukee Bucks. In the Finals, they caught a lucky break when Kevin Durant and Klay Thompson went out with injuries before Kawhi Leonard lifted the Finals MVP and delivered the first title in Raptors franchise history.

Detroit Pistons: 1 Title - 2004



The Detroit Pistons famously knocked out the Goliath Lakers squad they featured Shaquille O'Neal, Kobe Bryant, Karl Malone, and Gary Payton. This Pistons team were one of the greatest teams that built their entire identity on teamwork and defense. They stifled Kobe and Shaq and greatly impacted the course of history by breaking up the Lakers superstar duo. The Pistons were led by Finals MVP Chauncey Billups, Ben Wallace, Rasheed Wallace, Richard Hamilton, and Tayshaun Prince en route to a 2004 championship.

Boston Celtics: 1 Title - 2008

2008 Boston Celtics Champions

The Boston Celtics captured the 2008 NBA title led by the likes of Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, Ray Allen, and Rajon Rondo. With Doc Rivers at the helm, the Celtics were destined for the NBA championship and they took out the Los Angeles Lakers in the Finals. The Celtics team was one of the most fun teams to watch and their ability to lock down on defense and blitz teams on offense was special to watch. This championship was the 17th title in Boston Celtics history, a massive achievement that stands today as the most titles for an NBA franchise ever (tied with the Los Angeles Lakers).


Ranking The Greatest And Most Successful NBA Franchises Of All Time

2021 NBA Awards Predictions: Giannis Antetokounmpo MVP, Anthony Davis DPOY, LaMelo Ball ROY

5 Reasons Why The Brooklyn Nets And Los Angeles Lakers Will Play In The 2021 NBA Finals

The Game Everyone Wants To Watch: All-Time Lakers Superteam vs. All-Time Non-Lakers Superteam

Michael Jordan’s Best Teammates vs. LeBron James’ Best Teammates: 6-0 vs. 4-6