Skip to main content

The Most Unstoppable Starting 5 Ever

Fadeaway World

Fadeaway World

There have been countless legends of this game that have dominated basketball from the start. We could put together millions of different squads that could go 82-0 on an NBA season and 16-0 in the playoffs.

But if we took the liberty of researching and putting together the most unbeatable lineup ever by picking the best season of each player, not even the greatest experts of this sport could put together a team that could beat ours.

If you don't take our word for it, we'll break it down for you. In the following paragraphs, we're going to let you know about the most unstoppable lineup in the history of basketball. We dare you to beat this team:

Point Guard - 1991 Michael Jordan

(via SLAM)

(via SLAM)

No legendary team would be complete without the greatest player to ever lace them up: Michael Jordan. He's not a true point guard but he proved to be a willing passer and playmaker throughout his entire career, and the 1991 season wasn't the exception to that rule.

Jordan had already taken the league by storm since day one but he took it up a notch during the 1990-91 season, when he averaged 31.5 points, 6.0 rebounds, 5.5 assists, 2.7 steals, and 1.0 blocks per game on 53/31/85.

He also led the Chicago Bulls to their first Championship, won the regular season MVP, Finals MVP, Scoring title, made the All-Star Game, the All-NBA first team and the All-Defensive first team as well. It doesn't get any better than that.

Shooting Guard - 2006 Kobe Bryant



Kobe Bryant was one of the most unstoppable scorers the league had ever seen. He was the second coming of Michael Jordan and he truly lived up to that reputation during his 2005-06 season with plenty scoring outbursts throughout the campaign.

Kobe averaged a career-high 35.4 points, 5.3 rebounds, 4.5 assists, 2.3 triples, and 1.8 steals per game on 45/34/85 shooting. He carried the load and led the Lakers to the playoffs with an 11-4 final run averaging 38.7 points on 48% shooting.

This is the season when he had his legendary 81-point game, a 62-point performance in three quarters vs. the Mavericks. He scored 45+ in four straight games, set the record for most points (2,832) and 40-point games (27) in Lakers history. He was named in the All-NBA 1st team and the All-Defensive 1st team was an All-Star, and the league's Scoring champion.

Small Forward - 1986 Larry Bird 

Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images

Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images

It seems like most young NBA fans have forgotten just how good Larry Bird was. Not just in his prime but every single time he was on the hardwood. He was the greatest small forward the league had ever seen before LeBron James.

Bird was at his peak during the 1985-86 season. He averaged 25.8 points, 9.8 rebounds, 6.8 assists, 1.0 three-pointers, and 2.0 steals per game on 49/42/89 from the floor and led the Boston Celtics back to the NBA Finals that season.

Larry Legend ended up winning his final NBA Championship, made the All-Star Game, was named Finals MVP, made the All-NBA 1st team, won the three-point contest, led the league in free-throw percentage and was named AP's athlete of the year.

Power Forward - 2013 LeBron James

LeBron James Miami Heat

It was pretty clear that LeBron James was the best player in the world entering the 2012-13 season, especially after he had won his first-ever NBA Championship. Needless to say, he wasn't satisfied and wanted to come back for more next season.

James didn't take his feet off the gas and averaged 26.8 points, 8.0 rebounds, 7.3 assists, 1.4 three-pointers, 1.7 steals, and 0.9 blocks per game on 56/40/75 from the floor that season and led the Heat back to the ultimate stage.

LeBron won his fourth MVP award (second straight), won the NBA Championship, was named Finals MVP, was an All-Star, made the All-NBA 1st team, the All-Defensive 1st team, and was named AP's Athlete of the Year. This has been arguably his best season thus far.

Center - 1994 Hakeem Olajuwon

Hakeem Olajuwon

Hakeem Olajuwon is the greatest big man in the history of the game. There, I said it. And he had one of the greatest individual and team seasons in 1993-94, making the most of the fact that Michael Jordan had retired from the NBA for the first time.

The Dream was an offensive juggernaut and a lockdown defender, averaging 27.3 points, 11.9 rebounds, 3.6 assists, 1.6 steals, and 3.7 blocks per game, on an impressive 52/42/71 from the floor. He also led the Rockets to the Finals.

Olajuwon won his first of two NBA Championships that season. He was named the league's MVP, Finals MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, was an All-Star, made the league's All-NBA 1st team, and even the All-Defensive 1st team.


The Reasons Why The Indiana Pacers Never Won An NBA Title

Top 5 Destinations For Anthony Davis That Would Shock And Piss Off Lakers Fans Forever

Ranking All 30 NBA Teams If They Kept Every Player They Drafted

Top 10 Players With The Most Turnovers Per Game This Season

The Best Target For Every NBA Team This Offseason