Skip to main content

Kobe Bryant Had A Hilarious Response When Asked About The Difference Between No. 8 And No. 24: "8 Has Something That 24 Will Never Have... The Ability To Grow Hair."

Kobe Bryant

Kobe Bryant was one of the most incredible players in the history of the NBA. Bryant had an incredibly long career, playing for almost 20 years. And in that 20-year run, Kobe found incredible success, winning numerous championships, and several individual accolades in that time.

One of the things that have defined Kobe Bryant's career is his jersey numbers. For the first 10 years of his career, Kobe wore the number 8 jersey. In 2006, Kobe changed his jersey number from 8 to 24, the number he would wear for another 10 years until he eventually called time on his legendary career. 

When one reporter asked him at his jersey retirement what the difference was between his 8 and 24 jerseys and which he prefers, Kobe had a hilarious response, noting that his time with his number 24 jersey meant that he did not have the ability to grow hair like he had when he wore the number 8 jersey.

"I kind of go back and forth. 8 has something that 24 will never ever have... the ability to grow hair."

Kobe was clearly having fun with the reporter and the fans ahead of his jersey retirement ceremony. The Lakers retired both numbers, 8 and 24, for Kobe Bryant, showing how much he means to the franchise. Many consider Kobe to be the greatest player in the history of the Los Angeles Lakers. 

Previously, Kobe has explained why he made the decision to switch his jersey from number 8 to number 24 in 2006, saying that it provided a 'clean slate' for him going forward.

While wearing the number 8, Kobe found incredible success, winning 3 NBA championships consecutively, between 2000 and 2002, being part of the last team to three-peat in the NBA. And after changing his jersey to 24, Kobe won 2 more NBA championships consecutively in 2009 and 2010, and also won his first regular-season MVP and Finals MVP, winning the latter twice in 2009 and 2010.