Skip to main content

For The First Time Since 1971, The NBA Finals Won’t Have Players Who Have Won The Championship

Fadeaway World 

Fadeaway World 

The 2021 NBA Finals will have a lot of curious facts after a very entertaining playoff run. We're yet to know who will face the Phoenix Suns in the big series, but it's fair to start naming certain things we will see in this series, regardless of if the Bucks or Hawks come out of the East. 

Before the conference finals, fans were excited about one of Paul George (Clippers), Devin Booker and Chris Paul (Suns), Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks), or Trae Young (Hawks) would win their first ring this season. Moreover, it seems like the entire roster of any team will get their first championship. 

Redditor "WeathrNinja" found out that this will be the first time since 1971 that not a single player in the Finals has won the title before. 

With the elimination of Kawhi Leonard, Rajon Rondo, and Serge Ibaka on the LA Clippers, we can be certain that no player on a team in the finals has won a ring. None of the players on the Suns, Hawks, or Bucks has won an NBA championship in their career. This has not happened since 1971, as shown below.

2020 LeBron James

2016-2019 Steph Curry

2013-2015 LeBron James

2011-2012 Dwyane Wade

2008-2010 Kobe Bryant

2007 Tim Duncan

2006 Shaq

2005 Tim Duncan

2004 Shaq and Kobe

2003 Tim Duncan

2001-2002 Shaq and Kobe

2000 Robert Horry

1999 Steve Kerr

1996-1998 Michael Jordan

1995 Hakeem Olajuwon

1994 Earl Cureton (1983 Sixers)

1992-93 Michael Jordan

1991 Magic Johnson

1990 Isiah Thomas

1982-89 Magic and Bird

1981 Tom Henderson (1978 Bullets)

1980 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

1979 Wes Unseld

1978 Bob Dandridge (1971 Bucks)

1977 Henry Bibby (1973 Knicks)

1976 Don Nelson

1975 Mike Riordan (1970 Knicks)

1974 John Havlicek

1973 Jerry West

1972 Willis Reed

1971 No players on either roster had won a championship

This is an incredible stat. The 2021 NBA playoff has brought many surprises for fans, and this must be one of the biggest. 15 players will become new NBA champions in a couple of weeks from now, doing something that hasn't been done in 50 years.